Book Review: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I have just come to the end of one of the most random and infinitely amazing books in the Universe. I had so many thoughts on it and this instantly prompted me to get off my bed and into my computing chair to get writing about it.

For starters, a couple of days ago it was my birthday (Yay!) on which I was presented with this fabulous, if not entirely delightful edition of The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy omnibus by Douglas Adams. I confess to never having read any of his other works and this was an impulsive decision that I went through, but I dare say I do not regret it. Usually I’m at war with the oddities of science fiction- a pleasant surprise is what this book is.

Now that I’ve finished heralding this amazing book whose cover you will see in just an instant

4751598707120297068-account_id3

TADAA(Eeek)!

…I shall move on to the more serious process of reviewing it.

The books, as I have come to find out in the more recent process of reading it, is inexplicably mind-boggling. You shall come across various interstellar lifeforms, the names of which you will not be able to remember in the first read. The protagonists, Arthur Dent and Ford Prefect (a rather unusual name, granted) are likable and completely relatable.

It takes a while getting used to, with various theories and whatnot, but if you’re a nerd like me, you’ll probably find them fascinating. Zipping around through hyperspace avoiding oblivion whilst escaping the apocalypse is a pretty fast-paced series of events. Added to that would be a rather pathetic manic-depressive robot and an old man who cannot seem to make sense of what is happening around him after awakening from a billion years of sleep(rough guesstimate).

Adams’ style of writing is humorous and in simple enough terms that even ordinary mortals like most non-nerds will be able to comprehend. It combines the notions of science and technology of the 70s and 80s era with classic, timeless human principles and philosophies. A disclaimer: this book was written purely as a source of entertainment based off a popular same-writer-scripted radio series and hence must be treated accordingly. 

Anyways, a brief synopsis of the book:

  • Genre: Comedy/Sci-fi

  • Price : Rs 799/$12 (USD)/9.7 British Pounds approx

  • Rating: 10/10 (considering ancient and modern writing standards)

  • Age rating: 12+

  • Publisher: My version is the Ballantine Books version

Thank you very much for reading. I shall be back with more updates of this amazing and delightful series. Love and nerdship to you all!

Sincerely,

The Nerdy Snickerdoodle 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

