The Book of Tomorrow: Cecelia Ahern

Good evening, readers! I’m currently in the midst of my half-yearly examinations and I’d say they’re going pretty smoothly, unless that’s just the optimist in me talking. So today I shall review ‘The Book of Tomorrow’ by Cecelia Ahern, as you can see in the post title, unless you can’t, in which case, I’m very sorry.

cecy

I picked up this book at a second-hand-book fair that my Mum had suggested visiting, because I was in dire need of a new book to devour, and there are people in my family with very strong opinions on how to live on a budget(and spending on books doesn’t really come under this category) . I was at first drawn to it due to its extremely vibrant cover page. It looked so mystical and purple, and it had a cutout of a keyhole, so naturally, I was attracted to it. Sort of like paramagnetism.

I know, I know, the age-old adage ‘Never judge a book by its cover’ does apply here, but I sort of ignored my instincts and bought this book, hoping that by some random stroke of inspiration I’d find this book to be one of the best I’d ever read. Boy, was I wrong.

REVIEW:

For starters, the protagonist Tamara Goodwin seems to be this spoiled-brat snotty type of person, which usually doesn’t sit well with me, but I suppose one should expect some connection to reality , and in reality- nobody’s perfect. Let’s give that a miss.

All Tamara ever seems to think about is how miserable her life is, how everything around her is just depressing and dismal, which of her friends did ‘whatnot’ with whom (honestly, I try to steer clear of books that have any relation to sex and aforementioned ‘whatnot’ but somehow it seems to b unavoidable, so *sigh of resignation* we shall proceed.) and plenty of things that should seem completely insignificant in the world today.

She is sent to live with her Aunt and Uncle in the countryside, and their dwelling is in close proximity to this ancient castle ruin, which to be honest, I would be very stoked about. She tries to escape the mundanity of her now completely reclusive life, and chances across a travelling library. There, she picks up an old diary (and also an apparently very good-looking guy named Marcus, which seems to be more important than the actual book) and decides to take it home with her just for the heck of it, partly because even Marcus didn’t know it existed, and partly because it doesn’t open, so- ooh, a mystery- that’s the current situation.

What follows is a very twisted and slightly cliché plotline involving elements of fantasy and romance and flagrant rule-breaking. This is, I would like to mention explicitly, not a book for anyone under the age of 16 (unless you’re younger and more mature than most kids your generation are) , and if you are such a reader(underage), do consult your parents or sensible elders to ascertain that this is in fact appropriate reading material. Personally, I think it’s not, but who knows?

Picking apart the storyline, the characters lack integrity. They’re slightly off-base, I should say, and don’t seem to have distinctive personalities of their own. One needs a little more seasoning to this salad of a book to make it above par. As a role model, Tamara Goodwin is not ideal. Nowhere close, in fact. This book is however, a prominent example of the happenings that occur so frequently in the world of today. If one wants to read a book with a realistic portrayal of life [SPOILER:(excluding the magic diary) ] then this book checks that box.

Overall, it was a huge disappointment for me. Ms Ahern, I’d say this isn’t your best work although I think may fans would disagree.

QUICK RATING:

  • Rating: 4/10
  • Age rating:Preferably 16+
  • Genre:Contemporary Fiction
  • Price: I picked it up for Rs 200 which is equivalent to 2.25 pounds/ approx $3(USD)                   Actual price: $10.75(USD)/7.99 pounds
  • Author: Cecelia Ahern
  • Publisher: HarperCollins

Thank you for reading this. I’d love to hear your opinions on this book.

More posts soon to come!

-The Nerdy Snicker

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

